2023 TurnAround Achievement Awards

The Clare-Gladwin Regional Education Service District (CGRESD) honored twenty local high school students at the 18th Annual TurnAround Achievement Awards Ceremony for overcoming obstacles in their academic and personal life.

This year’s recipients from Beaverton, Clare, Farwell, Gladwin and Harrison, as well as Bullock Creek, Coleman and Meridian, were nominated by their local teachers and administrators for demonstrating the most effort, perseverance and commitment to turning their lives around.

“At some point in our lives, we all encountered challenges and difficult circumstances,” said former CGRESD Superintendent and keynote speaker Sheryl Presler, “it’s not what happens to you, but how you react that matters. You are all here today because of your grit - the courage and resolve to face and overcome adversity.”

Students honored at the event include Austin Eastman and Leiyah Mungin from Beaverton Jr./Sr. High School; Angel Riegle and Makhi Slayton of Bullock Creek High School; Aliyah Ruiz and Dasia Wiltse from Clare High School; Tierra Herron and Marisela Salvador from Clare Pioneer High School; Isaiah Biers and Abby Yancer of Coleman Jr./Sr. High School; Preston Beatty and Pamela Smith-Krabill from Farwell High School; Sonja Sprague and Lillian Woodworth of Farwell Timberland Alternative Education; Avery King and Elise Nettleton from Gladwin High School; Kyle Hale, April Herron and Ethan Hyde of Harrison High School; and Kiley Inman of Meridian High School.

Recipients of the TurnAround Achievement Awards are given one of three scholarships, each entitling them to six credit hours of in-district tuition at Mid Michigan College. The scholarships include the Doug Dodge Academic Opportunity Award for Beaverton, Clare, Farwell, Gladwin, and Harrison students; the Al Roeseler Academic Opportunity Award for students from Coleman High School; and the Tom Gilstad Academic Opportunity Award for those attending Bullock Creek High School or Meridian High School.

Since the awards began in 2006, the TurnAround Achievement Awards bring the students, their families and the teachers/administrators who nominate them together for a luncheon to share their stories and present certificates from CGRESD and MMC. This year’s reception was held at the Tobacco Ranch Venue in Clare.

“The TurnAround Achievement Awards was established to honor high school seniors who have overcome significant obstacles in their academic or personal lives,” said CGRESD Superintendent Tara Mager. “It was a pleasure to be here today to celebrate these individual students who have faced much adversity and demonstrated resilience and personal growth in their educational journey.”

For more information, visit www.cgresd.net.


Back row L to R: Preston Beatty, April Herron, Makhi Slayton, Leiyah Mungin, Isaiah Biers, Avery King, Ethan Hyde, Kiley Inman, Aliyah Ruiz, Dasia Wiltse and Sonja Sprague

Front row L to R: Angel Riegle, Austin Eastman, Pamela Smith-Krabill, Abby Yancer, Elise Nettleton, Kyle Hale, Lilian Woodworth, Marisela Salvador
Not pictured: Tierra Herron